Friday 5: If you love K. Webster’s books, then you should read these books also!

If you know me, you know I love me some K. Webster. If I had to choose, my favorite book from her would be Whispers and the Roars. 

My Review: 

So this review is going to be a bit different than some of my other reviews because this book was just so amazingly good that I will probably just ramble about the book as much as I can without giving away the plot twist.
Unconditional love, understanding, and ultimate dedication are the themes of this novel. – K. Webster
Kady is a twenty-nine year old woman that is living with demons from her past. She had a terrible childhood and lost her mother when she was young. Her father was abusive and she endured more than anyone, especially a child, should have too.
People in the town judge her. They think that she’s crazy. They think she’s a monster.
She just a broken girl who is trying to get by.
As you read Kady’s story, you learn about the people in her life that keep her going but you also learn about the people that scare her.
Officer Joe, Agatha, Presley, and Whiskers are the people (and cat) that keep Kady safe. They make her feel at ease and she loves them all.
Then you have Bones. He is her best friend and the person she leans on the most for support. He is there for her anytime she needs him and he never lets her down (except for that one time).
But then you have the people that scare her; Norman, Pascale, and Kenneth. Bones helps keep them away and Yeo used to before he left.
Years ago, her boyfriend Yeo left to go to college. She has refused to talk to him since then, even though she was the one who pushed him to leave. She knows he can do better than her. His family doesn’t understand her and what she has been through and she doesn’t want them judging him for being with her. She just wants what is best for Yeo and she believes that she isn’t what is best for him.
Yeo is now back. After finishing school and becoming a doctor, Yeo wants his life with Kady back but he knows it is going to be a hard fight to get it. He has been keeping up with how she is doing from Bones and Agatha but she always avoids him when he comes to town. He knows Kady thinks he can do better but he only wants her. He was only ever wanted her. Yeo plans to do whatever is needed to get Kady back into his life.
“Love and my moral compass duel in the dark night. Love is more fierce and unstoppable and fucking crazy. Love always wins. That moral compass never stood a chance.”
Overall thoughts:
WOW!! What a book. I can honestly say that in the beginning, I wasn’t totally feeling the book. I kept reading because I know K. Webster’s work and I knew I wasn’t going to be disappointed.
About 46% into the book I started to get very confused. I was like “What in the world is going on?” Then at about 60% I was like “I totally understand now!”
WHAT A PLOT TWIST!!!!
I never saw it coming. Like ever. But once it was reviled, everything made sense.
K. Webster is a genius. This story was amazing but it was also such a hard story to read. I takes you places that no-one would ever willing go and shows you what some people go through. This book is dark and can make you feel uneasy but it is totally worth it.
I wish I could put into words how much I loved this book but words cannot describe how this book made me feel.
At first I was only going to give this book like 3 1/2 stars but then I read the plot twist and everything made sense so…….I give this book 5 huge stars!!!

So….. below are 5 different books/series from 5 other authors that you should read if you love K. Webster!!

Hope you find a new favorite book!


I See You by Ker Dukey

My review:

**MAJOR TRIGGER WARNING***
This book is a very dark read. If you need a trigger warning of any kind, this book is not for you.
Now….what I’m the world did I just read!?!
Like holy moly.
Nina is a young woman who goes through a dramatic event. She doesn’t understand why it happened and just wants to restart her life.
Then she meets Devon. Devon changes her. Devon makes her come out of her shell. But Devon holds secrets.
You think you have this book figured out and then BAM….total plot twist.
This book was soooo good. I’m definitely going to have a book hangover.


The Top Shelf Series by Alta Hensley

My review:

I really like Alta Hensley and her work, and I am so excited for this new series. The story line was good. The characters were good. It was just overall a good read.
I don’t wanna say too much and give away what happens in the books but I will say that this book is a must read.
I’m interested to see where this group of books goes.
My review:

My favorite Alta Hensley book to date!!
This book was more than I ever expected! Just when I thought I had everything figured out…..EVERYTHING CHANGED!!!!! This book is in my top books of the year!
“Do you have scars on your heart as well ?” “ Not yet .”
Harley Crow is an assassin. A killer. The villain. Part owner of Spiked Roses. He has never loved anyone before. He knows that with the way he lives his life, that love cannot be a part of his life.
Men drank booze out of fancy glasses that cost more than I made in an entire month… unless I did a Tasting . The Tasting Room in Spiked Roses and the Tastings that occurred in that room were a different story.
Marlowe Masters works at Spiked Roses. Since she can remember she has wanted Harley Crow. His dark, mysterious ways interagency her. When an opportunity comes to work in the The Tasting Room, a special room at the Spiked Roses, she takes it. Harley is supposed to be there. He never goes to the tastings. This is her chance to get Harley to notice her.
“RED,” he said. “All you have to do is say RED. But if I don’t hear that word, I won’t stop.”
What happens when Marlowe gets the her chance to be with Harley?
Can one weekend change anything?
What happens when things go to far and trust is broken?
Marlowe and Harley have this connection that cannot be broken or can it?
This book was AMAZING!!!! The story line was great. The plot twist was HOLY COW!!!! This book was so much more than I thought it would be. Once I started reading this book I could not put it down. I can tell that Alta put her heart into this book. The scenes are very well written and the characters have great development.
My review:

When I first went into this book, I was a bit nervous. I really enjoyed the first two books, but this book seemed like it could be a bit more taboo. Don’t get me wrong, I love my dark, taboo reads. I just wasn’t sure what I was going to be getting with this read.
When Ivy needs a new job, Victor Drayton steps in to save the day. He offers her a spot as one of his Drayton’s Dolls. Ivy knows that the Dolls are super sexy and also kind of taboo. She knows that the pay is good and she needs the money. When she takes Victor up on his offer, she never could have expected what she was walking into.
Victor Drayton is known for his world famous Drayton Dolls. When Ivy needs a job, he can’t resist giving her the opportunity. What he is not sure of is if she can handle it. He thinks she would be an amazing doll, but for some reason, he feels different about her than any of his other dolls.
As time goes on, feelings start to develop. But those feelings could end up messing everything up.
When tragedy strikes, will Ivy be able to survive? Will Drayton be strong enough to do what is needed to keep everyone safe?
Like I said earlier, I was a bit nervous going into this book. But once I started reading, I couldn’t put it down. I loved Drayton and his dolls. I loved this relationship with Ivy, even though there were times when I was like “Stop being an ass”.
My review:

Wow! That’s all I can say about this book.
This book made me tense in my seat. It made me cry. I had to put it down a few times and then come back to it a few minutes later. The ride this book takes you on is totally worth it!
This book was more than I could have asked for.
Alec is one of the owning members of the Spiked Rose. When an old friend send his daughter to work there, Alec is asked to watch over her.
Makayla is excited for this new opportunity she has been given. After living a very sheltered life for the first 20 years of her life, Makayla is ready to spread her wings and fly. But life won’t be that easy.
After receiving a letter from Makayla’s dad, Alec is asked to do more than just watch over her, he is asked to protect her and keep her safe. Why? Her dad’s past has caught up to him. A past that Alec knows all too well, The Iron Colt Brotherhood. A secret society of rich southern men.
Makayla is stunned when Alec says they have to leave. She doesn’t understand why. All she knows is that Alec was asked to keep her safe and that’s what he plans on doing.
Alec and Makayla have an instant connection. Alec has known Makayla since she was a little girl and knows her dad would not approve of his feeling towards her, but he can’t help it, he wants what he wants.
What happens when Alec’s plan to keep Makayla safe doesn’t work the way he wants it too? What happens when Alec has to turn into a person he always told himself he would never be?
THIS BOOK!!!! The feels this book gave me were crazy. There were times I wanted to yell and scream at Alta because her writing was driving me crazy. A good kind of crazy. The kind of crazy where you say “NO WAY” or “WHAT IN THE WORLD IS HAPPENING” but you can’t stop reading because you have to know what happens next.
This book has a quick time line and an insta-love, but it works. I don’t feel like it was rushed. I think the story ran very smooth and everything clicked.
This book is dark. This book talks about subjects and has scenes that could be hard for some to read. If you even doubt that you could read this book, this book might not be for you.


The Animal Series by Marni Mann

My review:

Mature Adult Content : Readers should be 18+ (contains violence, sexual situations, dark themes) This book is not every anyone who cannot handle cussing and intense situations.

Marni Mann… what did I just read??
This book was captivating, dark (very dark), and so full of twists and turns that I couldn’t put it down. So many people and so many stories that all connect and will make you say “WTF?”

We meet Tyler first. She has just killed herself but we flashback and she tells us her story and how she got where she got.
Tyler is in college and gets drug into the underground world of drugging men and then practically robbing them of thousands of dollars, called the Achurdy. She meets Jae one night while off work and has an instant connection to him. Because of her job, she knows she can never have any kind of relationship with Jae but for some reason, she can’t break away from him.
Then we go to present day and meet Beard. Beard is a killer. He is hired by private people or companies to kill others. He works with two other men, Shank and Diego. Beard loves to torture people, he loves hearing them scream. We don’t learn a lot about his background at first, he is kinda a mystery. He meets a lady name Layla in Miami and is immediately drawn to her. Something about her keeps her in his mind at all times. But you can tell that Layla is hiding secrets.
The story goes back and forth between Tyler flashbacks and present day Beard.
Along the way you also meet Mina who runs Achurdy and Bond who is a person in Beards life. We get a little insight on their stories.
At the end of the book, we get an insight on Shank and what he says blows my mind.

This story was crazy! There were so many twists and turns, connections and ties. And then you read the ending and you are like “OMG”. This book is a total mind f***!!
My review:

This review is going to be short because I don’t want to give away anything and the more I type, the more secrets I’ll tell.
Be prepared. This book is dark. I love dark and there were parts I has trouble reading.
With that being said, in this book you learn Shanks story. And what a story.
As always, Marni knows how to give you an ending that leaves you wanting more.


Ruthless by Dani Rene

 My review:

Wow…what a story.
I am going to warn you now….this is not an easy story to read. There are parts that could be triggers. Like major triggers. So if you need a warning of any kind, this book is probably not for you.
With that being said…..HOLY COW!!! What did I just read?!?!
Wrath: can be defined as uncontrolled feelings of anger, rage, and even hatred. Wrath often reveals itself in the wish to seek vengeance. In its purest form, wrath presents with injury, violence, and hate that may provoke feuds that can go on for centuries.
Callan and Madison have a story that makes you feel so many different emotions. There were times when I wanted to scream. Times when I wanted to cry. Times when I needed a cool drink because what I had read had been majorly hot!!
Callan is not a good man. He has done a lot of bad things in his life. Callan is a man that doesn’t love, or so he thought.
Callan also knows what he likes in the bedroom, and it takes a strong woman to be able to handle it.
Madison is a young woman trying to find her way in life. She has a powerful father and a “perfect” fake boyfriend. Madison also has secrets. Secrets few people know. Secrets that she keeps to herself.
Callan and Madison are like oil and water. But in their case, the oil starts to mix into the water. The water starts to dilute the oil, weakening it.
“She’s stealing my fucking breath, and I’m fucked because I want to give it to her.”
Dani did an amazing job in this book showing the push and pull between Callan and Madison. This isn’t a fairy-tale romance. This isn’t a sweet, loving read. This book has heart and soul. It has love and hate.
I can not wait to go back and read the first 3 books of this series!


Sick Fux by Tillie Cole

My review:

What a read!!!
This book was way more than I could have ever expected. They storyline was so deep and so raw that it just sucked me in.
Ellis (Dolly) and Heathan (Rabbit) have such a connection that nothing, not time, not pain, not anything can tear them apart.
I am so excited to see if this book has a spin-off because there is AMAZING potential there for one.
Well done Tille Cole, well done!!

9 thoughts on “Friday 5: If you love K. Webster’s books, then you should read these books also!

Add yours

  1. Never heard of these authors before because I am more into YA than NA or Adult books. 😅 Awesome post! I like the cover of the first book mentioned.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: