The greatest trick the devil ever pulled was convincing the world he didn’t exist.
But who said the devil was a he?
In my world, she was out to cause havoc on all our lives.
She’ll use the one thing I care most about to control me—force me into her Elite world, filled with sin, deceit, and power. And under her spell, I’ll lead a sinister brotherhood of seven at one of the most prestigious universities in New Orleans.
Seven tasks set forth by the devil herself, promising nothing less than the forbidden fruit of power. What they don’t understand is it will all end in bloodshed and regret.
They call me the alpha. The one in charge. The one with pride bigger than any task I could be given. And my pride won’t let me be anywhere but at the top of the food chain until she gives me what I truly want.
My task is Meghan Thorne.
She’s too pure for me to touch, too good for me to ruin—and the only thing standing in my way to freedom.
Accept your sin wisely, for the tasks given to earn your place are not for the weak…they’re for The Elite.
As they say, pride comes before the fall.
I am Mason Blackwell.
I am Pride.

My Review: 4 stars 

Book two of The Elite Seven series did not disappoint. 49737011_756342971406066_8031765628296866936_n

Mason had a rough childhood. After his parents were killed, Mason and his sister went into the foster care system. But life in the system isn’t always the best. Luckily Mason made a friend in Micah, a friend that will show back up later in his life.

When things take a turn for the worse with his new foster family, Mason finds himself in trouble. Trouble that actually never happened. All of this trouble is thanks to his foster mom Lillian. (If you read Lust, you have already met Lillian.)

Lillian wants Mason to follow her “rules”, she wants him to do whatever she says, and if he doesn’t she will get him out of jail. Mason says no at first but then Lillian brings up his sister and Mason will do whatever he needs to do to protect his sister Evelyn, even if that means playing by Lillian’s rules.

Lillian wants Mason to run the Elite Seven, to be the leader over its seven new members (including himself). She knows his “PRIDE” will keep him in line. That he won’t cross her.

Mason has a random one night stand with a woman he meets at a bar. A woman that drove him crazy, but he never imagined he would see her again. A woman he never imagined would be his “task” to gain membership into the Elite Seven and keep his sister safe. A woman that would be one of his college professors. Megan Benedict.

The problem? Mason has a heart. He realizes he can’t do what Lillian wants him to do and he has to figure out a way out of it. He realizes the closer he gets to Megan, the more he cares about her.


Why does Lillian want to take Megan down?

What did Megan ever do to Lillian?

What happens when everything takes a turn for the worse?

Is Lillian the only one pulling the strings or is there someone above her?

Pride was a really good read. I got to learn more about the Elite Seven and more about some of the other characters. J.D.’s writing is spot-on and I think Mason and Megan have some really good character development and growth throughout the book.

I am really enjoying this series and I am excited for Wrath’s book.



About the Author: 


Creative designer, mother, wife, writer, part time superhero…

J.D. Hollyfield is a creative designer by day and superhero by night. When she is not trying to save the world one happy ending at a time, she enjoys the snuggles of her husband, son’s and three doxies. With her love for romance, and head full of book boyfriends, she was inspired to test her creative abilities and bring her own story to life.

J.D. Hollyfield lives in the Midwest, and is currently at work on blowing the minds of readers, with the additions of her new books and series, along with her charm, humor and HEA’s.

Kindle Unlimited Membership Plans

Shop Amazon Devices – Trade-in Your Kindle, Get 25% Off a New Kindle + Gift Card

Try Prime Discounted Monthly Offering

Fire 7 Tablet – Starting at $49.99

Shop Amazon Devices – Bundle and Save: All-new Kindle Paperwhite + Audible
Try Prime Discounted Monthly Offering

4 thoughts on “Pride

Add yours

  1. Thanks for sharing! I’m glad you’re enjoying this series. Not my usual genre but it sounds really good and I may check it out!!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: